Stats: All the numbers you
can handle (and then some).

For information on mid-season exhibition games, check out The Odd Games.

The first game in Canucks history took place on October 9, 1970.

One Game at a Time

It's one of the most common sports clichés: "we'll take it one game at a time". It's usually stated by a player whose team doesn't have a hope of winning in the long run (you know, like a team down three games to none in the playoffs). For our purposes, we'll be looking at the Canuck game results for each game. You can view the results by season or by team.

Results by Season

Results by Team

Anaheim Ducks
(1993-94 to present)
Columbus Blue Jackets
(2000-01 to present)
New York Islanders
(1972-73 to present)
Arizona Coyotes
(1996-97 to present)
Dallas Stars
(1993-94 to present)
New York Rangers
(1970-71 to present)
Atlanta Flames
(1972-73 to 1979-80)
Detroit Red Wings
(1970-71 to present)
Ottawa Senators
(1992-93 to present)
Atlanta Thrashers
(1999-2000 to 2010-11)
Edmonton Oilers
(1979-80 to present)
Philadelphia Flyers
(1970-71 to present)
Boston Bruins
(1970-71 to present)
Florida Panthers
(1993-94 to present)
Pittsburgh Penguins
(1970-71 to present)
Buffalo Sabres
(1970-71 to present)
Hartford Whalers
(1979-80 to 1996-97)
Quebec Nordiques
(1979-80 to 1994-95)
Calgary Flames
(1980-81 to present)
Kansas City Scouts
(1974-75 to 1975-76)
St. Louis Blues
(1970-71 to present)
California Golden Seals
(1970-71 to 1975-76)
Los Angeles Kings
(1970-71 to present)
San Jose Sharks
(1991-92 to present)
Carolina Hurricanes
(1997-98 to present)
Minnesota North Stars
(1970-71 to 1992-93)
Tampa Bay Lightning
(1992-93 to present)
Chicago Blackhawks
(1970-71 to present)
Minnesota Wild
(2000-01 to present)
Toronto Maple Leafs
(1970-71 to present)
Cleveland Barons
(1976-77 to 1977-78)
Montreal Canadiens
(1970-71 to present)
Washington Capitals
(1974-75 to present)
Colorado Avalanche
(1995-96 to present)
Nashville Predators
(1998-99 to present)
Winnipeg Jets
(1979-80 to 1995-96)
Colorado Rockies
(1976-77 to 1981-82)
New Jersey Devils
(1982-83 to present)
Winnipeg Jets
(2011-12 to present)

Seasons listed in the "Results by Team" represent the seasons that the Canucks have competed against the specified team (even if the specified team existed before the Canucks entered the NHL).

Home games are listed as "H", away games as "A". Some games are listed as "N-H" or "N-A". These are games played at a neutral site, but counted as one of the Canucks' home or away games.

Scores are listed with the Canuck goals first, followed by the opponent goals and the result. Overtime games are noted with an "OT" or an "OE". On April 7, 2000, the Canucks lost in overtime after pulling their goaltender for an extra attacker. Because of this, they did not earn a single point for the overtime loss. Hence the Overtime-Empty net notation (OE).

Starting in 2005-06, shootouts are used to determine a winner if neither team scores in overtime. These are noted with "SO" in the overtime column.

Colour Coded Results
Era (Team Colours) Wins Losses Ties Overtime
1970-71 to 1977-78 Blue Green Black -- --
1978-79 to 1982-83 Black Red Yellow -- --
1983-84 to 1996-97 Black Red Yellow Red --
1997-98 to 1998-99 Blue Maroon Silver Maroon --
1999-2000 to 2003-04 Blue Maroon Silver Silver --
2005-06 to 2006-07 Blue Maroon -- Silver Silver
2007-08 to present Blue Green -- Black Black

On team pages, a fourth column is listed as part of the Canucks' record indicating overtime losses (these are not counted in the loss column). Four result columns also appear in season records from 1999-2000 to 2003-04 when ties and overtime losses were both possible.

The AVG represents the standard NHL version of the winning percentage, not the Adjusted Winning Percentage used on other pages of this site.

Content copyright © 2001-2016 David Marchak
This page last updated September 17, 2020